With more than 50 years of accreditation, you can trust your education at STLCC measures up to other schools in the region.

50 years of accreditation

What accreditation means for you

Accreditation guarantees the value of the education you’re investing in.

If a college is accredited, this means it’s undergone a rigorous evaluation from a government-recognized agency. These agencies review a college’s:

  • Mission, objective and goals
  • Quality of education
  • Student services
  • Faculty

STLCC is proud to have continuously maintained accreditation through the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) since 1966. Every decade, the college undergoes a comprehensive site visit to ensure we’re maintaining the high standard we set over 50 years ago.

In addition to institutional accreditation by the HLC, many programs have been accredited or approved by recognized accrediting bodies. You can view the details of those accreditations in our online catalog.

In 2018, we hosted another comprehensive site visit and prepared for this evaluation through the Open Pathway process.

Visit the Higher Learning Commission website for more information about the Assumed Practices and Criteria for Accreditation through the Higher Learning Commission.

Meet your Self-Study Team

Steering Committee

Dennis White and Joyce Johnson are co-chairing the Steering Committee. Members include:

  • Andrew Langrehr, VCAA, HLC Institutional Liaison
  • Kelli Burns, Director of Institutional Research and Planning
  • Sheila Ouellette, Director of Instructional Resources
  • Anne Wessely, Interim Director of Distance Education
  • Kedra Tolson, Executive Director of Marketing and Communications
  • Steve Long, Associate Vice Chancellor for Workforce Solutions

Campus Liaisons

Campus Liaisons have been charged with facilitating communication on their campuses. 

  • Patricia Suess, Florissant Valley, CWI, and BRDG Park
  • Nancy Collier, Meramec Campus and South County Educational Center
  • Brenda French, Forest Park and Harrison Center
  • Kimberlyann Granger, Wildwood and Corporate College

Specialty Committees

Committees have been formed to focus on each of the five criteria. Leadership of these committees is as follows:

  1. Mission. Co-chaired by Kelly Wavering (MC) and Amy Sonderman (FV)
  2. Integrity, Ethical and Responsible Conduct. Co-chaired by Deborah Carter (FP) and Kim Mueller (CC)
  3. Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources and Support. Co-chaired by Jim Munden (FP) and Linda Hubble (FP)
  4. Teaching and Learning: Evaluation and Improvement. Co-chaired by Tom Dieckmann (FV) and Cynthia Jenkins (FP)
  5. Resources, Planning and Institutional Effectiveness. Co-chaired by Julie Fickas (MC) and Jill Houghton (CC).

Learn more

Visit the Higher Learning Commission website or contact the agency directly.

Back to top