Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » Programs » Cisco Networking Academy

Within this section

  • CCNA - Recommended Academic Plan

Cisco Networking Academy

The CCNA certification validates the ability to install, configure, operate, and troubleshoot medium-size routed and switched networks, including implementation and verification of connections to remote sites in a WAN. This curriculum includes basic mitigation of security threats, introduction to wireless networking concepts and terminology, and performance-based skills. This curriculum also includes (but is not limited to) the use of these protocols: IP, Enhanced Interior Gateway Routing Protocol (EIGRP), Serial Line Interface Protocol Frame Relay, Routing Information Protocol Version 2 (RIPv2),VLANs, Ethernet, and access control lists (ACLs).

There are four, 5-credit Cisco Networking Academy classes required to achieve Cisco Certified Network Associate and must be completed in sequence.  The CCNA 1 class is open to any STLCC student. There is no special enrollment process. Basic computer literacy, familiarity with the Web, college-level reading skills, and proficiency in basic mathematics are the only prerequisites. No prior knowledge of networking is required. Upon completion of the four-course sequence, students are eligible to take the Cisco Certified Associate exam.