Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » Experts Guide

Experts Guide

The STLCC Experts Guide is a resource to help journalists easily identify faculty and staff at St. Louis Community College who are available to discuss a variety of topics. The sources are grouped by topics, not by department; listings include their telephone numbers and email addresses. If you need general information about a department or program, or assistance in locating an expert, contact the Public Information and Marketing department at 314-539-5144 or 314-539-5140.

Patricia Matreci
District Coordinator/Media Relations & Public Information
314-539-5144
pmatreci@stlcc.edu

ACCESSABILITY/AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT

  • Linda Nissenbaum, 314-984-7654, lnissenbaum@stlcc.edu: Life Coaching, Disabilities in Higher Education, Attention Deficit Disorder, Learning Disabilities

ADMISSIONS/REGISTRATION

  • Mysha Clincy, 314-984-7581, mclincy@stlcc.edu: College Admissions, Registration, STLCC Programs and Services

ARCHAEOLOGY

BEHAVIORAL/SOCIAL SCIENCES

  • Richard Berne, 314-513-4406, rberne@stlcc.edu: Brain and Behavior, Working with a Psychologist, Psychology & Film, Mental Disorders
  • Darlaine Gardetto, 314-984-7695, dgardetto@stlcc.edu: Gender, Social Inequality, History of Feminist Movements in the United States, Mass Media and Representations of Women
  • Lisa Martino-Taylor, 314-984-7689, lmartinotaylor@stlcc.edu: Toxins/Hazardous Waste and Impacts on Communities, Radiological Weapons Testing and Development on Populations

BUSINESS/ECONOMICS

CHILD DEVELOPMENT

  • Sophia Pierroutsakos, 314-984-7978, spierroutsakos@stlcc.edu: Infant Development and Care, Cognitive Development in Infancy and Childhood, Parenting Practices

COMMUNICATIONS

  • Donna Nelson, 314-644-9909, dmnelson@stlcc.edu: Staff and Faculty Professional Development, Organizational Development, Communication Skills (public speaking, active listening, group interaction skills), Voice and Articulation for Singers and Speakers

COMPUTERS/INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

  • Tim Roesslein, 314-780-0450, troesslein1@stlcc.edu: Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Excel, Computer Hardware, Software Installation, Computer Troubleshooting
  • Margaret Hvatum, 984-7518, hvatum@stlcc.edu: Databases, Information Security, Hacking, Unix, Web Development, Programming

CRIMINAL JUSTICE

  • William E. Tucker, 314-644-9652, wtucker25@stlcc.edu: Criminal Law and Procedures, Criminal Trials

COUNSELING

  • Shawn Harrell, 314-644-9799, sharrell14@stlcc.edu: Financial Aid, Advising, Counseling, Peer Mediation
  • Hope Steiner, 314-984-7577, hsteiner@stlcc.edu: Academic Success, Self Esteem, Domestic Violence, Abuse
  • Donna Zumwinkel, 314-984-7590, dzumwinkel@stlcc.edu: Career Counseling, Stress Management

CULINARY ARTS/HOSPITALITY STUDIES

Deaf Communications

DIET/NUTRITION

  • Cindy Hartman, 512-663-8393, chartman26@stlcc.edu: Registered Dietitian, Culinary Specialist, Medical Nutrition Therapy (gluten-free, diabetes, heart disease, cancer, overweight/obesity, food hyper-sensitivities, vegetarian/vegan), Aging Population/Long-term Care

DIGITAL MEDIA

EDUCATION

  • Juliet Scherer, 314-984-7852, jscherer@stlcc.edu: Developmental Education, Higher Education History and Policy, Community College History and Policy

ENGLISH/COMPOSITION

  • Michaella Thornton, 314-984-7544, mthornton45@stlcc.edu: Creative Writing, Creative Nonfiction, Literary Journalism, First-year Composition, Online Writing Instruction

FINANCIAL AID

government/politics

  • Emily Neal, 314-984-7989, eneal20@stlcc.edu: U.S. Politics, American Government, State/Local Politics, Environmental Politics

HEALTH/FITNESS

HEALTHCARE/DIAGNOSTICS

  • Beth Anderhub, 314-644-9399, banderhub@stlcc.edu:  Medical Ultrasound, Medical Imaging, Impact of Healthcare Reform

HISTORY

  • Steven Collins, 314-984-7199, scollins@stlcc.edu: U.S. History, Southern History, U.S. Economic History, History of Technology

ISLAM

LIFESTYLE/TRAVEL

  • Craig Mueller, 314-644-9590, cmueller@stlcc.edu: Travel and Tourism, Travel Industry
  • Tom Zirkle, 314-644-9769, tzirkle@stlcc.edu: International Travel, First-Generation College Students, Intercultural/Interracial Marriage, Widowerhood

LITERATURE

  • Katherine Gordon, 314-513-4438, kgordon@stlcc.edu: Twentieth Century British Literature, Scots, Scottish Literature
  • Joe Love, 314-971-0877, jlove53@stlcc.edu: African-American writers, Black Arts Movement, Nathan B. Young, Jr., 1960s Writers, Beat Writers African-American Science Fiction
  • Barbara Wachal, 314-513-4431, bwachal@stlcc.edu: American Literature, History, Culture (Religion, 19th Century and 1918-1949) American Literature, History, Culture (religion, 19th Century and 1918-1949)

MATHEMATICS/SCIENCE/STEM

  • Kim Granger, 636-422-2204, KGranger@stlcc.edu :  Developmental Mathematics, STEM Success for Minority Students, Student Success and Retention
  • Richard Menendez, 314-984-7724, 636-464-1907,  rmenendez@stlcc.edu: Astronomy, Deep Space, the Universe, Big Bang and M Theory, Telescopes, Eclipses, Observing the Sky

MUSIC

  • Tom Zirkle, 314-644-9769, tzirkle@stlcc.edu: Music Theory, Percussion, Ethnomusicology, Popular Music Improvisation, Avant-Garde

PHYSICAL THERAPY

  • Mary Christman, 314-984-7591, mchristman@stlcc.edu: Stretching Related to Exercise, Basics of Posture

PSYCHOLOGY

  • Margaret Tyler, 314-513-4108, mtyler@stlcc.edu: Depression, Posttraumatic Stress Disorder, Grief/Loss, Suicide

STUDENT SERVICES

  • Shawn Harrell, 314-644-9799, sharrell14@stlcc.edu: Financial Aid, Advising, Counseling, Peer Mediation
  • Carolyn O’Laughlin, 314-984-7642, colaughlin2@stlcc.edu; Student Leadership, Campus Clubs and Organizations, Student Government, Campus Involvement, New Student Orientation, Acclimating to College, College Student Development, Campus Community Building and Development, Millennials in College

TEACHING

  • Carol Lupardus, 314-513-4411, clupardus@stlcc.edu: Teacher Education, Cultural and Psychological Aspects of Beauty

WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT

  • Steve Long, 314-539-5311, slong@stlcc.edu: Workforce Development, Accelerated Training Programs, Community Development, Job Training, Career and Technical Education