Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » Women Helping Women Project Named Florissant Valley Campus Innovation of the Year

Women Helping Women Project Named Florissant Valley Campus Innovation of the Year

March 28, 2017

Florissant Valley Innovation of the Year winner  
Lonetta Oliver, right, accepts her campus Innovation of the Year award from Elizabeth Perkins, Florissant Valley provost.

A project designed to create a supportive community on the campus, at the college, and in the community has been named the Innovation of the Year at St. Louis Community College-Florissant Valley.

The Women Helping Women Seminar Series was created to address the personal, professional and academic needs of women at Florissant Valley. Seminars are conducted by faculty, staff, students and community members who desire to share non-academic knowledge for the betterment of others. The series is designed for and marketed toward, but not exclusive to, women.

Contributors to the project were Lonetta Oliver, Ph.D., associate professor in English, and Carla Jordan, retention specialist in Career and Technical Education.

STLCC annually participates in the Innovation of the Year Award process, sponsored by the League for Innovation in the Community College. Initially, an Innovation of the Year is selected at each campus, at the Cosand Center, and, if there are innovations that cross the district in application and usage, a districtwide award. The award winners from each category then compete for STLCC’s overall Innovation of the Year, and the resulting league plaque and recognition.

Other campus nominees included the Accessible Materials: Going beyond the Norm for Retention and Learning project. It was submitted by Regina Driskill, coordinator in Deaf Services; Elizabeth Granier, assistant professor in Biological Sciences; Michelle Henley, part-time interpreter; Rachel Martin, assistant professor in Reading; Amy Miller, supervisor in Deaf Services; Zachary Mussig, coordinator in Instructional Technology and Design Services; Rachel Priscu, part-time interpreter; and Aletta Speegle, professor in Mathematics.

The League for Innovation established the Innovation of the Year Award to recognize individual staff members or teams who have designed and implemented a significant innovation. Only one award is presented to each of the league member districts. The league also provides certificates for college innovations that are runners-up in multi-campus district competitions.