Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » STLCC-Meramec Accounting Professor Markus Ahrens Wins Prestigious Cook Prize

STLCC-Meramec Accounting Professor Markus Ahrens Wins Prestigious Cook Prize

July 08, 2016

Markus Ahrens

Markus Ahrens, professor of Accounting at St. Louis Community College-Meramec, has received the J. Michael and Mary Anne Cook Prize Award for two-year colleges from the American Accounting Association (AAA). Ahrens will receive his award-a solid silver medal and a monetary prize of $25,000-at the 2016 AAA Annual Meeting in New York, NY, in August.

The Cook Prize is the foremost recognition of an individual who consistently demonstrates the attributes of a superior teacher in the discipline of accounting, and serves to recognize, inspire and motivate members to achieve the status of a superior teacher.

Ahrens joined the Accounting & Legal Studies Department at STLCC-Meramec in 2001 and currently serves as the department chair. Prior to his teaching career, he worked as an accountant for 15 years. He earned a Master in Business Administration degree from Saint Louis University and recently completed his Ph.D. coursework, also at Saint Louis University. Ahrens' primary research interests are experiential learning in accounting education and student engagement utilizing technology. Currently, he serves as a Trustee for the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) Foundation Board and as President for the Two-­Year Section of the American Accounting Association, and is the past-­ chair for the Conference on Teaching and Learning in Accounting. He also serves on the AICPA Pre-­Certification Education Executive Committee. In 2010, Markus served as president for the Missouri Association of Accounting Educators. In addition, Markus is a member of the Teachers of Accounting at Two-Year Colleges, Institute of Management Accountants, Missouri Society of CPAs and the Association of Experiential Education organizations.

Each year, up to three Cook Prize awards can be awarded in the categories of graduate, undergraduate, and two-­year accounting degree programs. This year's winner of the graduate award is G. Peter Wilson of Boston College, and Billie M. Cunningham from the University of Missouri is the recipient of the undergraduate award. More information about the Cook Prize is available online.