Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » D’Souza Receives U.S. Department of State Critical Language Scholarship

D’Souza Receives U.S. Department of State Critical Language Scholarship

June 14, 2016

St. Louis Community College student Saroj D’Souza been awarded U.S. Department of State Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) to study a critical language this summer.

The CLS program is part of a U.S. Government effort to expand the number of Americans studying and mastering critical foreign languages. D’Souza is one of approximately 560 U.S. undergraduate and graduate students who received a CLS scholarship in 2016.

Selected finalists hail from 48 states and the District of Columbia, and represent more than 200 institutions of higher education from across the United States, including public and private universities, liberal arts colleges, minority-serving institutions, and community colleges.

Each CLS participant will spend eight to 10 weeks in one of 24 locations studying Arabic, Azerbaijani, Bangla, Chinese, Hindi, Korean, Indonesian, Japanese, Persian, Punjabi, Russian, Swahili, Turkish or Urdu. D’Souza will study the Hindi language in Jaipur, India.

Over the past 10 years, the CLS program has sent more than 5,000 American undergraduate and graduate students overseas to learn critical languages all over the world. It provides fully-funded, group-based intensive language instruction and structured cultural enrichment experiences. CLS program participants are expected to continue their language study beyond the scholarship and apply their critical language skills in their future professional careers.

Administered by the American Councils for International Education, the CLS program actively recruits in states and regions of the United States that have been historically underrepresented in international education and encourages students from diverse backgrounds and academic majors to apply.

CLS participants are among the more than 50,000 academic and professional exchange program participants supported annually by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.