Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » Wildwood to Broadcast Live Symposium on Nuclear Waste

Wildwood to Broadcast Live Symposium on Nuclear Waste

February 17, 2016

periodic table

Leading experts on radioactive waste will converge at STLCC-Wildwood for "The Atoms Next Door," a symposium that explores the regional and global implications of nuclear weapons development.

The event includes a panel discussion with leading experts on the issue, and an art gallery that portrays people and communities affected by it.

STLCC-Wildwood will produce a live broadcast of the symposium at 7 p.m. CST Saturday, Feb. 20.

This event features a keynote presentation by Helen Caldicott, M.D., and a panel discussion with Robert Alvarez, Denise Brock, Mark Harder, Ray Hartmann and Sam Page, M.D.

Audience members are invited to submit questions to the panel via Twitter. To submit a question for consideration, please include #MKH in your tweets.

"The Atoms Next Door" has been made possible by generous support from these sponsors:

This symposium marks the inaugural presentation in STLCC-Wildwood's "Making Knowledge Human Series," which has been created by Gwendolyn Verhoff, Ph.D., assistant professor in arts and humanities. The series aims to promote public understanding of academic subjects and broad engagement with humanities by bringing the public into conversation with experts.

About the Panel

CaldicottHelen Caldicott, M.D., (@DrHCaldicott) has devoted the last 42 years to an international campaign to educate the public about the medical hazards of the nuclear age and the necessary changes in human behavior to stop environmental destruction. From 1977 to 1986, she played a major role in re-invigorating Physicians for Social Responsibility. On trips abroad she helped start similar medical organizations in many other countries. The international umbrella group, International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1985. She also founded the Women's Action for Nuclear Disarmament in the United States in 1980.

Dr. Caldicott has received numerous awards for her work, including the Lannan Foundation's 2003 Prize for Cultural Freedom and 21 honorary doctoral degrees. She was personally nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize by Linus Pauling -- himself a Nobel Laureate. She has been named as one of the most influential women of the 20th Century. Visit her website to learn more.

AlverezRobert Alvarez is a senior scholar at the Institute for Policy Studies, where he is currently focused on nuclear disarmament, environmental and energy policies. Between 1993 and 1999, at the U.S. Department of Energy, he served as a senior policy advisor to the Secretary and Deputy Assistant Secretary for National Security and the Environment. In recognition of his work, he was awarded two Secretarial Gold Medals, the highest awards given by the department.

Prior to joining DOE, Alvarez served for five years as a senior investigator for the U.S. Senate Committee on Governmental Affairs, chaired by Sen. John Glenn (D-Ohio), and as one of the Senate's primary staff experts on the U.S. nuclear weapons program. In 1975, he helped found and direct the Environmental Policy Institute. He is an award-winning author and has published articles in prominent publications including Science Magazine, Bulletin of Atomic Scientists, and The Journal of Environmental Radioactivity.

BrockDenise Brock is the ombudsman for the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health's Office of Compensation Analysis and Support and the Centers for Disease Control. She works under the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act of 2000, helping individuals seek compensation from the U.S. government under its provisions.

She helps potential claimants with their questions concerning the creation of "Special Exposure Cohort" (SEC) groups and a variety of other questions.

While the original compensation law created a limited number of SECs, Brock is credited with filing the first successful petition to create an additional SEC for Mallinckrodt workers. This laid a foundation for many additional SECs benefiting workers across the country. She has helped claimants, not only as an advocate for workers, but also as a consultant to several law firms. She has been widely recognized for her experience and has testified before Congress.

Brock may be contacted via email at CKO7@cdc.gov or by calling toll-free at 1-888-272-7430.
HarderMark Harder was born and raised in north St. Louis County. He is serving his first term representing the St. Louis County citizens of the 7th Council District. He is a member of the Committee of the Whole, the Revenue & Personnel Committee, and the Committee on Disabilities. From 2011 to 2014, he served as an alderman for the City of Ballwin.

Harder earned his bachelor's degree in marketing and political science from the University of Missouri-St. Louis. He later attended Webster University for MBA studies. Harder worked for three major St. Louis Fortune 500 companies before going on to build his own real estate business as a broker with Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices. He also started a small service company called Real Estate Resources, which provides various property management and closing services for clients. Find out more about Harder.

HartmannRay Hartmann (@RayHartmann) founded The Riverfront Times in 1977 at the age of 24. Under his management, it became one of the 10 largest alternative news weeklies in the nation, and was twice named Missouri's top news weekly. In 1998, Hartmann, along with co-owner Mark Vittert, sold the paper.

Today, Hartmann and Vittert own St. Louis Magazine, an award-winning publication that offers readers a smart, sophisticated guide to St. Louis. In addition, Hartmann is a regular guest on KECTV's "Donnybrook," where he debates current local trends and hot political topics with a panel of St. Louis journalists.

PageSam Page, M.D., was elected in a special election held August, 2014, to represent the 2nd District on the St. Louis County Council. From 2003 to 2008, Dr. Page was a member of the Missouri House of Representatives.

Dr. Page earned an undergraduate degree in chemistry while working his way through college. During that time, he spent two years working in the hazardous waste management department of University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC). He received his Doctor of Medicine from the UMKC School of Medicine, where he was selected to Alpha Omega Alpha medical honor society. Dr. Page completed a residency in anesthesiology at Northwestern University and a fellowship in pain management at Washington University in St. Louis. He is currently an attending physician at Mercy Hospital and an adjunct assistant professor of anesthesiology at St. Louis University Medical School. Find out more about Page.