Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » STLCC Recognizes Students as Emerging Scholars

STLCC Recognizes Students as Emerging Scholars

November 17, 2015

Forest Park Emerging Scholars  
Forest Park faculty and staff celebrate with their Emerging Scholars.

This fall, St. Louis Community College recognized 51 students as Emerging Scholars. The Emerging Scholars program celebrates students who have overcome academic challenges. 

Otis Beard  
Otis Beard, retired professor in reading
and one of the founders of the Emerging
Scholars program at Florissant Valley,
speaks to the students.

To be selected as an Emerging Scholar, students must have completed at least two or more developmental courses in the areas of English, math and reading.  In addition, they must have completed 24 or more college-level credit hours while maintaining a grade-point average of 3.5 or above. Students who meet this criteria are invited by a committee to apply for the recognition.

“We are pleased to celebrate our students’ success and honor them as Emerging Scholars,” said Chancellor Jeff Pittman, Ph.D. “This distinction is a validation of their hard work and their commitment to achieving their educational goals.”

The Emerging Scholars program was established in 1996 at STLCC-Florissant Valley as a way to recognize academic excellence and encourage students taking developmental courses. Since then, the program has been adopted districtwide and has provided students with thousands of dollars in scholarships. 

This year’s Emerging Scholars are:

Florissant Valley -- Brandon M. Bowers, Edel E. Edorh, Eric V. Golliday, Zynab D. Harleem, Malette R. Johnson, Faith A. Jordan, Jermell A. Keys, Da jung Kim, Demeshia L. Lathon, Azala Q. McGee, Jasmine A. Minor, Nipaben B. Patel, Sarah A. Roam, Abigail L. VanNoy and Deanna B. Walker

Forest Park -- Chinwike Ojukwu, Tanesha Sutherland, Courtney Johnson, Crystal Melching, Phyllis Cole, Vanessa Hardin, Tiara Wallace, Dana Carter, Tremaine Saxton, Samuel Freihoff, Sharay Jones, Mary Hadley, Audrey Collins, Dakota Kolb, David McLaurin and Suzanne Varda

Mary Cravens  
Scholarship recipient Mary Cravens with her family
and Professor Michael Hauser (left).

Meramec -- Christine Bahrmasel, Mary Cravens, Victoria Gauss, Jamie Hallsten, Jennifer Hameed, Christianb Hargas, Kaitlyn Lauman, Austin Lewandowski, Corrie Messina, Carolyn Orwig, Michael Poetz and Monika Staniek

Wildwood -- Marsha Casey, Joshua Klarich, Marissa Laube and Kara Poole

Recipients of the Emerging Scholars Award receive a paid membership into Phi Theta Kappa, the largest honor society in American higher education. In addition, six students received scholarships to further their education. These students are Mary Cravens, Faith Jordan, Joshua Klarich, Jasmine Minor, Suzanne Varda and Deanna Walker.  

For more information about STLCC’s Emerging Scholars program, or to make a donation in support of the scholarship fund, contact the STLCC Foundation at 314-539-5472.

Wildwood Emerging Scholars  
Faculty and staff celebrate with Wildwood's newest Emerging Scholars.