Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » "Suited for Success" Program Wins Innovation of the Year at Florissant Valley

"Suited for Success" Program Wins Innovation of the Year at Florissant Valley

April 08, 2015

Innovation of the Year FV  
Left to right: Pauline McFall, Antoinette Boyd,
Victoria Harris, Michela Walsh and Dobbie

A program created to help students develop a professional image was named the Florissant Valley campus' Innovation of the Year.

"Suited for Success" includes employment-related workshops that are conducted by college faculty and staff, as well as professionals in the community to enhance students' knowledge of employer expectations.

The program was created by Victoria Harris, Antoinette Boyd, Michela Walsh, Dobbie Herrion, Duane McFall, Pauline McFall and Bob Deppen.

The Clothing Closet was established so that students would have the opportunity to obtain professional clothing on campus and be prepared for career fairs as well as interviews. The Clothing Closet has received more than 250 items, and donations continue as clothing drives are planned each semester prior to the Career and Networking Fair. The donations from staff, faculty and community members have allowed 85 students to obtain professional attire.

Every year, STLCC participates in the Innovation of the Year award process. Initially, an Innovation of the Year is selected at each campus, at the Cosand Center, and, if there are innovations that cross the district in application and usage, a districtwide award. The award winners from each category will then compete for STLCC's overall Innovation of the Year, and the resulting league plaque and recognition.

Other nominees at Florissant Valley included Project Lead the Way: Forging Dual Credit Pathways to Employment by Angela Taylor, Beth Elam-Michaud, Jennifer Hill, Julie Fickas, Kelly Watson-Collins, Richard Norris, Betsy Boedeker, Scott Gevaert and Brett Richardson; as well as the Student Government Association Nook - Grab 'n' Go by Gwen Nixon and the Campus Life staff.

The districtwide award celebration will be held at 2:30 p.m. on April 13 in Café East at the Forest Park campus.

The League for Innovation in the Community College established the Innovation of the Year Award to recognize individual staff members or teams who have designed and implemented a significant innovation. Only one award is presented to each of the league member districts. The league also provides certificates for college innovations that are runners-up in multi-campus district competitions.