Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » STLCC’s Annual Eco-Art Competition Draws Top-Level Talent from Local High Schools

STLCC’s Annual Eco-Art Competition Draws Top-Level Talent from Local High Schools

March 10, 2015

Eco-Art Exhibit winning entry  
Emma Harford of Lafayette High School won this year’s Eco-
Art competition with her entry titled, “Girl’s Fruit.”

Inspired by the architecture and green building practices used to erect the Wildwood campus, St. Louis Community College inaugurated a high school art competition in April 2009 that focused on sustainability.

Since then, almost 400 local high school students have entered artwork to STLCC’s Eco-Art Exhibit that speaks to environmental consciousness in either the theme of the artwork or materials used in its creation.

The seventh annual show was held the week of March 2, with a culminating reception and awards ceremony on March 5. This year, the show featured artwork of students from Barat Academy, Eureka High School, Jefferson High School, Marquette High School, Lafayette High School, and Pacific High School. Each school was limited to 10 submissions, and some schools had as many as 60 submissions from which to pick their final pieces.

The show was juried by Ruth Reese, sculptor, instructor and owner of the Reese Gallery located off Antique Row on Wisconsin Street in St. Louis.

“It was a joy and a privilege to jury the exhibition at St. Louis Community College,” Reese said in her remarks at the reception. “I was immediately impressed by this collection of work by young artists. Without a doubt, it was refreshing and inspiring to see such talented makers.”

First place went to Emma Harford of Lafayette High School. Marquette High School’s Emma Niceler garnered second place, and third place went to Jessica Knobbe of Eureka High School. The students received a recycled glass leaf and cash prize.

In addition to the overall winners, Reese named a first-, second-  and third-place prize for each high school. Barat Academy winners were Helen Lyu (first), Courtney Borich (second), and Madison Heuermann (third). Eureka’s winners were Jessica Devine (first), Andrea Litzinger (second), and Mason Seidel (third). Jefferson winners were Eva Govreau (first), Sydney Fabrizi (second) and Haley Edington (third). Lafayette awarded were Emma Harford (first), Megan Hardie (second), and Judy Kim (third). Marquette award winners were Kristen Parks (first), Mackenzie Wade (second) and Desteon Watkins (third). Pacific winners were Madison Ballman (first), Marianne Jones (second) and Josephine Raab (third) of Pacific High School.

The People’s Choice was awarded to Rebecca Fishwick of Eureka High School.