Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » Excellence in Mathematics Competition Is Huge Success

Excellence in Mathematics Competition Is Huge Success

November 19, 2014

photo of trophies  

More than 600 high school students from 44 schools from around the region competed in the recent Excellence in Mathematics Competition, sponsored by the Mathematics Educators of Greater St. Louis and St. Louis Community College-Forest Park.

Students gathered for the day to see who could be the best at solving a series of math problems. This was the 44th year that the contest was held at STLCC-Forest Park.

The contest consisted of 20 multiple choice questions for each grade level. There were two divisions for each grade level - freshmen, sophomore, junior and senior, based on the size of the high school. Individual and team awards were given to the top students and teams in each division.

Two $1,000 scholarships were awarded to the highest scoring seniors in each division. The 2014 winners were Sam Rubin from Clayton High School and Alain Chen from Rock Bridge Senior High. 

Two participant scholarships for a St. Louis Community College course were also awarded through a random drawing to one junior and one senior contestant. This year’s winners were Emilia Berni from Villa Duchesne and Grant Wheeler from Washington High School.

Other event sponsors included Wolfram, Carol B. Loeb and Emerson Hermetic Motor Division.

Forest Park Mathematics department faculty members who assisted with the event were Lee Ullery, adjunct professor; Julie McGuire, assistant professor; Lynda Fish, professor; Michael Lueke, assistant professor; Seth Daugherty, assistant professor; Efrem Negash, instructor II; Arabela Koric, instructor II; Evelyn Corich, associate professor; James Munden, assistant professor; Sandra Irons, instructor II; Judy Clark, instructor II; Don Moser, professor emeritus; Nita Graham, assistant professor; Brian Carter, instructor; and Debbie Char, assistant professor. Sharon Pemberton, assistant professor, served as the event chair.

Forest Park Student Ambassadors Osha Steed, Brandon Haywood, Courtney Wheeler, Dorian Roundtree, Andrea Fesas and Maikel Piloto also assisted at the event.