Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » STLCC-Wildwood Honor Society Chapter Welcomes 14 New Members

STLCC-Wildwood Honor Society Chapter Welcomes 14 New Members

October 31, 2014

Wildwood PTK inductees  
The fall inductees of St. Louis Community College’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society take their oath.

Fourteen students were recently inducted to the Beta Rho Epsilon chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at St. Louis Community College-Wildwood.

The chapter has inducted almost 300 members since it was established in fall 2009. Students who have a 3.5 GPA after taking a minimum of 12 college-level credits are eligible for membership.

The new members are Alex Gaulden, Taylor George, Aaron Godwin, Bradley Hult, Joshua Klarich, Barb McKeernon, David Moors, Ashley Overy, John Prunty, Richard Reeser, Kara Reifschneider, Monica Scheerer, Syeda Shah and Bridget Smith.

The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society recognizes and encourages the academic achievement of two-year college students and provides opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. Since fall 2011, the Beta Rho Epsilon chapter has been recognized as a 5-star chapter, the highest rating a chapter can receive. Its members and projects earned multiple regional and international awards. Students have also earned significant transfer scholarships as a result of their work with the chapter.

During the ceremony, past president Denise Deavenport urged the new members to “go for it.”

“When I was sitting in your place, the chapter president told me to ‘go for it,’ and I’m passing that advice on to you,” Deavenport said. “So much can come of your membership. You will meet new friends who will help you learn and grow.”

Deavenport will attend the University of Missouri St. Louis on full scholarship to earn her bachelor’s degree in nursing beginning next spring.