Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » Fitzgerald Retains Seat, Brown Elected to Board of Trustees

Fitzgerald Retains Seat, Brown Elected to Board of Trustees

April 09, 2014

Incumbent Libby Fitzgerald retained her seat, and Theodis Brown Sr. claimed victory in the April 8 election for positions on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees.

Libby Fitzgerald  
Libby Fitzgerald

Fitzgerald and Brown will take the oath of office at the April 24 board meeting. Each will serve a six-year term.

Fitzgerald, retired associate professor in counseling at St. Louis Community College-Forest Park, defeated Daniel Henderson, president of Henderson’s Electric LLC, to retain her Subdistrict 4 seat. The uncertified vote was 14,096 for Fitzgerald, and 12,295 for Henderson. A third candidate, Rodney Gee, dropped out of the race but still received 175 votes.

Subdistrict 4 includes the school districts of Parkway, Lindbergh, Mehlville, Rockwood, Valley Park, Meramec Valley, Hancock Place and small portions of Jefferson and Franklin counties.

Brown, chief of the Castlepoint Fire Protection Association, defeated Redditt Hudson, the regional field organizer for Region IV of the NAACP, for the Subdistrict 1 seat. The uncertified vote was 13,316 for Brown, and 11,786 for Hudson.

Theo Brown Sr.  
Theo Brown Sr.

Subdistrict 1 includes the Hazelwood, Ferguson/Florissant, Riverview Gardens, Jennings, Pattonville, Ritenour, University City, Normandy, Clayton and Ladue school districts.

The STLCC Board of Trustees is a six-member board that represents the four subdistricts of the college service area. Subdistricts 1 and 4 are the two large subdistricts, each represented by two trustees. Subdistricts 2 and 3 are smaller, each represented by one trustee. District voters elect board members periodically for six-year terms.

The board is responsible for determining the policies of the college within the legal framework established by statutes of the state of Missouri. The board makes all final decisions concerning employment, termination of services, expenditure of funds, contracts, establishment of new programs, student fees, tax levies and construction of facilities. Regular board meetings are scheduled each month and are open to the public.