Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » Fitzgerald Sworn in for Second Term on STLCC Board

Fitzgerald Sworn in for Second Term on STLCC Board

April 29, 2014

Libby Fitzgerald  

Libby Fitzgerald was sworn in for a second term as a Subdistrict 4 representative on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees at the April 24 meeting. STLCC Board Chair Craig Larson, left in accompanying photo, administered the oath of office at the meeting.


Fitzgerald, retired associate professor in counseling at St. Louis Community College-Forest Park, defeated Daniel Henderson, president of Henderson’s Electric LLC, to retain her seat in the April 8 election. The uncertified vote was 13,423 for Fitzgerald, and 11,524 for Henderson. Fitzgerald will serve a six-year term.


Subdistrict 4 includes the school districts of Parkway, Lindbergh, Mehlville, Rockwood, Valley Park, Meramec Valley, Hancock Place and small portions of Jefferson and Franklin counties.


The STLCC Board of Trustees is a six-member board that represents the four subdistricts of the college service area. Subdistricts 1 and 4 are the two large subdistricts, each represented by two trustees. Subdistricts 2 and 3 are smaller, each represented by one trustee. District voters elect board members periodically for six-year terms.


The board is responsible for determining the policies of the college within the legal framework established by statutes of the state of Missouri. The board makes all final decisions concerning employment, termination of services, expenditure of funds, contracts, establishment of new programs, student fees, tax levies and construction of facilities. Regular board meetings are scheduled each month and are open to the public.