Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » New Trustee Brown Takes Oath of Office

New Trustee Brown Takes Oath of Office

April 29, 2014

Theodis Brown Sr  

Theodis Brown Sr. was sworn in as a Subdistrict 1 representative on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees at the April 24 meeting. STLCC Board Chair Craig Larson, left in accompanying photo, administered the oath of office at the meeting. 


Brown, chief of the Castlepoint Fire Protection Association, defeated Redditt Hudson, the regional field organizer for Region IV of the NAACP, for the Subdistrict 1 seat in the April 8 election. The certified vote was 13,318 for Brown, and 11,786 for Hudson. He will serve a six-year term.


Subdistrict 1 includes the Hazelwood, Ferguson/Florissant, Riverview Gardens, Jennings, Pattonville, Ritenour, University City, Normandy, Clayton and Ladue school districts.


The STLCC Board of Trustees is a six-member board that represents the four subdistricts of the college service area. Subdistricts 1 and 4 are the two large subdistricts, each represented by two trustees. Subdistricts 2 and 3 are smaller, each represented by one trustee. District voters elect board members periodically for six-year terms.


The board is responsible for determining the policies of the college within the legal framework established by statutes of the state of Missouri. The board makes all final decisions concerning employment, termination of services, expenditure of funds, contracts, establishment of new programs, student fees, tax levies and construction of facilities. Regular board meetings are scheduled each month and are open to the public.