Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » SOAR Project Named Florissant Valley's Innovation of the Year

SOAR Project Named Florissant Valley's Innovation of the Year

March 28, 2014

FV Innovation of the Year winners  
Left to right: Amy Bird, Cindy Campbell, Joe Worth, Annie
Wagganer, Jennifer Medeiros and Michael Metroulas.

The Florissant Valley Student Outreach and Registration (SOAR) project was named the Florissant Valley campus Innovation of the Year.

SOAR improves the quality of service provided to students through creative and unique collaborations among faculty and staff who volunteer their time to collectively and individually train students to use online tools, including web registration and the Banner Self-Service degree audit report.

Contributors to the project were Amy Bird, Cindy Campbell, Tom Dieckmann, David Doering, Julie Fickas, Christine Lewis, Jennifer Medeiros, Chris Stephens, Roger Thomas and Annie Wagganer.

STLCC annually participates in the Innovation of the Year Award process, sponsored by the League for Innovation in the Community College. Initially, an Innovation of the Year will be selected at each campus, at the Cosand Center, and, if there are innovations that cross the district in application and usage, a districtwide award. The award winners from each category will then compete for St. Louis Community College’s overall Innovation of the Year, and the resulting league plaque and recognition.

Other nominees at Florissant Valley included the Computer and Technology Support Events project by Phyllis Davis, David Doering, Stacy Hollins and David Wilke; the Peer Tutoring and Study Skills Development program by Karana Phillips, Melody Hill and Kelly Askey; and “The Bob”- a media:scape® miniclone by Bob Deppen, Duane McFall and Aaron Linder.

The League for Innovation established the Innovation of the Year Award to recognize individual staff members or teams who have designed and implemented a significant innovation. Only one award is presented to each of the league member districts. The league also provides certificates for college innovations that are runners-up in multicampus district competitions.