Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » STLCC Faculty Recognized for Teaching Excellence

STLCC Faculty Recognized for Teaching Excellence

March 13, 2014

Governor's Award winners 2014  
Governor's Award winners are, from left, Vicki Ritts, Timothy Roach, Seth Daugherty and Mary Luebke.

Four St. Louis Community College faculty members were among those recognized for excellence in the classroom at the annual Governor’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching in Jefferson City.

STLCC’s 2014 recipients were:

  • Seth Daugherty, assistant professor in mathematics, STLCC-Forest Park
  • Mary Luebke, professor in deaf communication studies, STLCC-Florissant Valley
  • Vicki Ritts, Ph.D., professor in behavioral sciences, STLCC-Meramec
  • Timothy Roach, Ph.D., professor in English/reading/foreign languages/interdisciplinary studies, STLCC-Wildwood

The awards, presented by the Missouri Community College Association, are given to the top community college teachers in the state each year. The Excellence in Teaching Award also includes a proclamation from Gov. Jay Nixon. The awards recognize faculty statewide for their effective teaching and advising, service to the school community, commitment to high standards of excellence and success in nurturing student achievement. Recipients are chosen by their respective institutions.

The Missouri Community College Association is a statewide organization through which Missouri’s community colleges work together to advance common agendas.  MCCA provides advocacy, education, information, and networking opportunities in service of the state’s 5,700 community college faculty, staff, administrators, and trustees.