Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » Joe Wilson Wins Forest Park’s Innovation of the Year

Joe Wilson Wins Forest Park’s Innovation of the Year

February 25, 2014

Forest Park Innovation of the Year  
Pictured, from left, Deb Carter, Innovation of the Year Committee
chair; Joe Wilson, assistant professor in chemistry; and Vince
Featherson, dean of the Allied Health and Natural Science
Joe Wilson, an assistant chemistry professor at St. Louis Community College-Forest Park, has won the campus Innovation of the Year Award for his contributions to a hazardous waste treatment document to help make STLCC science laboratories safer.

Wilson’s project, “Chemical Hygiene Plan,” helps the school prevent chemical exposure that could result in injuries or harm to students, faculty and staff who use laboratories.

Wilson wrote a 96-page document that defined work practices and procedures addressing safety. It includes information on laboratory standards, recognition of hazardous materials, standard operating procedures for laboratory chemicals, waste disposal, biological and chemical safety, personal protective equipment, spill response, accident response, medical consultation and evaluation, and record-keeping.

The departments within the Allied Health and Natural Science division provided the necessary information to make the document complete. The Forest Park Science department will now serve as a model for procedures employed at other STLCC campus science departments.

Wilson has taught chemistry classes – fundamental, general and organic – at STLCC-Forest Park since 2010, and has been actively involved on campus academic, faculty, staff and student committees. He formed the Chemistry Club last year, and is the adviser of the chapter now affiliated with the American Chemical Society.

June Williams, senior manager in library and instructional resources, was runner-up for her Bone Room Video (http://streamingmedia.stlcc.edu/fpmedia/Bone%20Room/Bone%20Room.wmv).

The League for Innovation in the Community College established the Innovation of the Year Award to recognize an individual or group from each of the 20 member college districts who have used creative, productive approaches to meet new needs or solve old problems.

Within the STLCC district, awards for Innovation of the Year are selected at each campus and the Cosand Center. Criteria include quality, efficiency, cost effectiveness, replication, creativity and timeliness. If there are innovations that cross the district in application and usage, a districtwide award may be granted. The winners from each location compete for the district Innovation of the Year, and the resulting League for Innovation plaque and recognition.