Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » Gateway to Innovation Establishes Scholarship for STLCC Students

Gateway to Innovation Establishes Scholarship for STLCC Students

January 08, 2014

Gateway Scholarship presentation  
Representatives of Gateway to Innovation joined STLCC officials Dec. 5 to announce the Gateway to Innovation Scholarship. Pictured are, from left, Jo-Ann Digman, executive director of the STLCC Foundation; Eric Gorham,  REJIS; Rodney Gee, president of the STLCC Foundation Board of Directors; Craig Klimczak, STLCC vice chancellor for technology and educational support services; Lawrence Casey, ConAgra Foods; Beth Effertz, Furniture Brands; Dennis Michaelis, STLCC interim chancellor; and Craig Larson, STLCC Board of Trustees chair.

Representatives of the Gateway to Innovation have established a special scholarship through the St. Louis Community College Foundation.

The Gateway to Innovation Scholarship has been established to grow the information technology workforce in the region. Gateway to Innovation contributed $37,000 to establish the scholarship, and made the formal presentation to STLCC officials at the Dec. 5 Board of Trustees meeting.

The Gateway to Innovation Conference annually brings IT leaders and thinkers together from across the nation to inspire, collaborate and gain the competitive edge in an industry that demands more for less. The event was created in 2008 to showcase the impact and relevance of information technology on the regional economy and to raise awareness both locally and nationally, share best practices and learn from high-level speakers in technology.

To be eligible to receive this scholarship, students must recently have graduated from high school or are currently enrolled at STLCC with a minimum grade-point average of 2.5 and intend to major in information systems or computer science. The first scholarship will be awarded in fall 2014.