Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » Filing Opens Dec. 17 for STLCC Board of Trustees Seats

Filing Opens Dec. 17 for STLCC Board of Trustees Seats

October 31, 2013

Filing for the Subdistrict 1 and 4 seats on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees opens 8 a.m. Tuesday, Dec. 17. The seats currently are held by Melissa Hattman (Subdistrict 1) and Libby Fitzgerald (Subdistrict 4). They both were elected to the board in 2008.

Filing for the two seats closes at 5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 21. An election will take place April 8 to fill the seats. The winners will serve six-year terms.

A six-member board representing the four subdistricts of the college service area governs St. Louis Community College. Subdistrict 1 includes the Hazelwood, Ferguson/Florissant, Riverview Gardens, Jennings, Pattonville, Ritenour, University City, Normandy, Clayton and Ladue school districts. Subdistrict 4 includes the school districts of Parkway, Lindbergh, Mehlville, Rockwood, Valley Park, Meramec Valley, Hancock Place and small portions of Jefferson and Franklin counties.

Individuals seeking the trustee seats must be at least 21 years of age and must be a resident voter of Subdistrict 1 or 4 for at least one year before the April 8 election. Each declaration of candidacy must be notarized before it is returned to the office of the associate for board relations at the Joseph P. Cosand Community College Center, 300 S. Broadway. Declarations of candidacy and a description of the subdistricts are available in the office of the associate for board relations at the Cosand Center. The office is open 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday-Friday; however, it will be closed Dec. 24-Jan. 2 and Jan. 20.

The placement of candidate’s names on the ballot shall be determined according to the order of filing by candidates, except that a lottery system will be used to place candidates' names on the ballot for those candidates who file prior to 5 p.m. Dec. 17. All candidates will be notified about the lottery and all other requirements for filing for office at the time they receive filing forms.

For more information, contact Rebecca Garrison, associate for board relations, at 314-539-5154.