Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » STLCC Board of Trustees Elects New Officers

STLCC Board of Trustees Elects New Officers

June 24, 2013

Board of Trustees officers  
Craig Larson, left, and Doris Graham, right, were elected chair and vice chair, respectively, for the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees. They presented Libby Fitzgerald, center, outgoing chair, with an award in recognition of her service as board chair.

The six members of the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees selected Craig Larson, Ed.D., of Manchester as board chair and Doris Graham, Ph.D., of north St. Louis County as vice chair at the June 20 regular meeting. Larson and Graham will serve one-year terms in the positions.

Larson, retired superintendent of the Rockwood School District, was elected to the board to represent Subdistrict 4 in 2010. Subdistrict 4 includes the school districts of Parkway, Kirkwood, Lindbergh, Mehlville, Rockwood, Valley Park, Meramec Valley and portions of Jefferson and Franklin counties.

Graham, retired assistant principal and teacher at Ames Visual and Performing Arts Public School in St. Louis, was elected to the board to represent Subdistrict 1 in 2012. Subdistrict 1 includes the Hazelwood, Ferguson/Florissant, Riverview Gardens, Jennings, Pattonville, Ritenour, University City, Normandy, Clayton and Ladue school districts.

Other trustees are outgoing Board Chair Libby Fitzgerald (Subdistrict 4), Melissa Hattman (Subdistrict 1), Hattie Jackson (Subdistrict 2), and Joan McGivney (Subdistrict 3), who was re-elected to the board this past April. Subdistrict 2 includes north St. Louis City. Subdistrict 3 includes south St. Louis City and small portions of adjacent St. Louis County.

The STLCC Board of Trustees is a six-member board that represents the four subdistricts of the college service area.  Subdistricts 1 and 4 are the two large subdistricts, each represented by two trustees.  Subdistricts 2 and 3 are smaller, each represented by one trustee. Board members are elected periodically by district voters for staggered six-year terms. Trustees are responsible for determining college policy within the legal framework established by the statutes of the state of Missouri. They make all final decisions concerning employment, termination of services, expenditures of funds, contracts, establishment of new programs, student fees, tax levies and facilities construction. Monthly meetings are open to the public.