Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » Forest Park's Student Newspaper Wins 18 Awards

Forest Park's Student Newspaper Wins 18 Awards

April 30, 2013

The Scene, the student newspaper at St. Louis Community College-Forest Park, received 18 awards at the recent Missouri College Media Association Conference. Forest Park competed in Division 4 with other community colleges across the state.

The Scene won third place for Best Overall Newspaper, and also third place in the sweepstakes. Among the first-place winners were Editor Michelle McIntosh for in-depth reporting, Nate Rothwell for regular column, James Shelton for an entertainment review and Derrick Varner for news photography.

Jammarl Montgomery, Garrieth Crockett, Michelle McIntosh and Jennifer Kulka won second place for feature page.

Third-place winners included: Lesa Bush, feature writing; DeJuan Baskin, sports writing; Derrick Varner and Brandon Panosh, news photography; Jennifer Kulka and Michelle McIntosh, feature photography; Jerome Clark, political cartoon as well as story illustration.

Honorable mention went to Jammarl Montgomery, Derrick Varner and Jenae Williams, feature page; Alejandra Martinez, feature writing; James Shelton, entertainment review; Stajah Curry, non-political cartoon; Jammarl Montgomery and Garrieth Crockett, Page 1 design.

The Scene adviser is Teri Maddox, assisted by Lane Barnholtz.

"It's always great to see students recognized for their hard work and dedication. In some cases, The Scene staffers are writing stories, taking photos or designing pages while also juggling school, jobs and families. It's not easy," Maddox said.

The Scene 2013 staff

Front row, left to right: Markeith Childress, Michelle McIntosh and Tamara Dodd; Second row: Sana Cole, Irma Barragan, Chris Cunningham, Anna "Mars" Chekhovskaya, adviser Lane Barnholtz and Garrieth Crockett; Back row: Adviser Teri Maddox, Kourtney Pollard, Brandon Panosh, Justin Tolliver, DeJuan Baskin and LaJerrel "Link" Johnson.