Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » Parker Chosen as Coca-Cola New Century Scholar, All-Missouri Academic Team Member

Parker Chosen as Coca-Cola New Century Scholar, All-Missouri Academic Team Member

March 29, 2013

Antonio Parker  
Antonio Parker Sr., second from left, was named the 2013 Coca-Cola New Century Scholar. He and Shawntelle Fisher, second from right, were named to the All-Missouri Academic Team. Also pictured are Libby Fitzgerald, left, chair of the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees; and Myrtle Dorsey, right, STLCC chancellor.

Antonio Semajes Parker Sr., a student at St. Louis Community College-Florissant Valley, recently was named a Coca-Cola New Century Scholar 2013.

Parker, a Phi Theta Kappa member, received the highest All-USA Today Community College Academic Team application score in Missouri and will represent the state in the opening ceremonies at the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) Convention in April. A total of 52 awards are given out each year.

Parker says STLCC really changed his life.

“Three years ago, I just had hopes of obtaining a GED and providing a stable home for my family,” he said. “Now I just won an academic scholarship to complete my bachelor’s degree.”

Parker will receive recognition and a $2,000 scholarship at the AACC Convention April 20-23 in San Francisco, Calif. He will be featured in USA Today, AACC's Community College Times and Community College Journal and on Phi Theta Kappa's website.

The Coca-Cola New Century Scholars program is sponsored annually by AACC, the Coca-Cola Foundation, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and Phi Theta Kappa.

In addition to receiving this prestigious award, Parker was also named to the All-Missouri Academic Team, an honor bestowed on the state’s top community college students.

“I feel honored to be a part of All-Missouri Academic Team. It is a great payoff for all my hard work in and out of the classroom,” said Parker. “I am so grateful to those who believed in me when I didn’t even believe in myself.”

Seven other St. Louis Community College students were named to the All-Missouri Academic Team. The students honored include Shawntelle Fisher of Florissant Valley; Emily Tisza and Jennifer Flores of Meramec; Kevin Gomez and Hagen Montano of Forest Park; and Abigail Wood and Janey Lawson of Wildwood.