Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » » STLCC Representatives Earn Recognition at ACTF

STLCC Representatives Earn Recognition at ACTF

January 30, 2013

ACTF Awardees  
Beth Ashby, President George Wasson and Derek Robertson

St. Louis Community College-Meramec representatives earned special commendations at the recent Region 5 Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival.

The Meramec production of “Clue: The Musical”  earned two Kennedy Center commendations. Student Derek Robertson was recognized for makeup and hair design and theatre staff member Beth Ashby for costume design.

“My work on Clue was the result of an amazing collaboration with Keith (Oliver) and Derek," Ashby said. "We wanted to make the show as big and colorful as possible, and stay true to the archetypal characters in the game. My first priority is always to aid the telling of the story, and we all came together in service of the ridiculous story we were trying to tell. It was a great experience, and we're all proud of what came out of it. I so appreciate the recognition from ACTF.”

Oliver, assistant professor in theater who also directed the play, and the eight students attended 31 workshops.

In addition to his commendation, Robertson competed in the National Applied Crafts competition in makeup and hair design with a display, and he and Haley Kemper participated in the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship competition. Meramec student Hannah Pauluuhn also was cast in a 10-minute play.

Oliver was recognized for his work in Region 5 as a national one-act play reader, and for mentoring Central Missouri State University student playwright Sheri McCartney and Iowa State University student director Christina Holaday for the play “Inside the Lines.”

The trip to the ACTF was supported with funding from Campus Life, the Theatre Club and the Improv Club.