Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2012 » July » STLCC Students Earn Awards in League for Innovation Literary, Art Competitions

STLCC Students Earn Awards in League for Innovation Literary, Art Competitions

July 06, 2012

Ben Hunt art entry  
Ben Hunt's artwork, titled "Intimidation," earned a Juror's
Choice Award in the League for Innovation Student Art

Two St. Louis Community College students were among the award winners in the League for Innovation in the Community College’s annual Student Literary and Art Competitions.

Florissant Valley student Terrence D. Dixon received a second-place award in the Student Literary Competition for his poem titled, “In a Minor Key.” Dixon also earned a second-place award in poetry in the 2010-11 competition. This year’s literary competition was hosted by Santa Fe College and included 56 literary works. The jurors were Bill Belleville for the Essay category; Lola Haskins, Poetry; Manuel Martinez, Short Story; and Tamerin Dygert, One-Act Play. Each of the judges has published works and won awards for their literary pieces.

Ben Hunt, who attends Forest Park, received a Juror’s Choice Award in the Student Art Competition for his charcoal piece was titled “Intimidation.” The competition included 95 works of art and was hosted by Maricopa Community Colleges. Jurors were Claudio Dicochea, a Mexican painter born in San Luis Rio, Colorado; Patty Haberman, who holds an MFA from Arizona State University and was an artist-in-residence with the Arizona Commission on the Arts; and Laura Hales, associate curator of education at Scottsdale Museum of Contemporary Art (BFA and MA from Arizona State University).

The League for Innovation in the Community College, founded in 1968, is a nonprofit educational group of more than 800 institutions from 11 different countries and is the only major international organization specifically committed to improving community colleges through innovation, experimentation and institutional transformation. St. Louis Community College is a founding member of the league and is one of 19 institutions whose CEOs comprise the League Board of Directors. The annual competitions for literary works, art and technology innovation are open to students who attend league board colleges.