Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2012 » June » STLCC Board of Trustees Elects New Officers

STLCC Board of Trustees Elects New Officers

June 29, 2012

Libby Fitzgerald and Melissa Hattman  
Libby Fitzgerald, left, presents a plaque to Melissa Hattman in recognition of her service
as chair of the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees. Fitzgerald was elected
to serve as board chair at the June 28 meeting.


















The six members of the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees selected Eleftheria “Libby” Fitzgerald of Chesterfield as board chair and Craig Larson, Ed.D., of Manchester as board vice chair at the June 28 regular meeting. Fitzgerald and Larson will serve one-year terms in the positions.

Fitzgerald, a retired associate professor in counseling at STLCC-Forest Park, previously has served as board vice chair. She was elected to the board to represent Subdistrict 4 in 2008. Larson, retired superintendent of the Rockwood School District, was elected to the board in 2010 and also represents Subdistrict 4.

Hattie R. Jackson (Subdistrict 2) was elected to serve as the trustees' representative on the STLCC Foundation Board of Directors. As STLCC board chair, Fitzgerald automatically becomes a member of the foundation board as well. Doris Graham (Subdistrict 1) was chosen to serve as an alternate on the foundation board. Graham was elected as a trustee in April.

Other trustees are Melissa Hattman (Subdistrict 1), outgoing board chair; and Joan McGivney (Subdistrict 3), who also was elected to the board this past April.

The STLCC Board of Trustees is a six-member board that represents the four subdistricts of the college service area.  Subdistricts 1 and 4 are the two large subdistricts, each represented by two trustees.  Subdistricts 2 and 3 are smaller, each represented by one trustee. Board members are elected periodically by district voters for staggered six-year terms. Trustees are responsible for determining college policy within the legal framework established by the statutes of the state of Missouri. They make all final decisions concerning employment, termination of services, expenditures of funds, contracts, establishment of new programs, student fees, tax levies and facilities construction. Monthly meetings are open to the public.