Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2012 » May » Dorsey Receives Gordon Award from Phi Theta Kappa

Dorsey Receives Gordon Award from Phi Theta Kappa

May 04, 2012

Myrtle Dorsey  
Chancellor Myrtle E.B. Dorsey

St. Louis Community College Chancellor Myrtle E.B. Dorsey, Ph.D., was one of 20 college chief executive officers to receive the Phi Theta Kappa Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction.

College presidents and campus CEOs are selected for this award on the basis of outstanding efforts given toward promoting the goals of Phi Theta Kappa.

The award is named for the late Shirley B. Gordon, Phi Theta Kappa’s longest serving chair of the board of directors and President Emeritus of Highline Community College in Des Moines, Wash. Gordon was named Phi Theta Kappa’s Most Distinguished College President in 1984.

Dorsey was appointed STLCC chancellor in 2011 and currently serves as the chair of the Board of Directors of the American Association of Community Colleges. She also serves on the AACC's 21st Century Commission on the Future of Community Colleges, and represented the organization at the first White House Summit on Community Colleges in October 2010.

St. Louis Community College’s Florissant Valley, Forest Park, Meramec and Wildwood campuses each has an award-winning Phi Theta Kappa chapter.

Headquartered in Jackson, Miss., Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,280 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.