Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2012 » February » Six Candidates Vie for STLCC Board of Trustees Seats

Six Candidates Vie for STLCC Board of Trustees Seats

March 29, 2012

Six candidates will vie for two seats on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees in the April 3 election. 

Candidates for the Subdistrict 1 seat on the board include Theodis Brown Sr., chief of the Castlepoint Fire Protection Association; Daryl L. Cothran, assistant director of the St. Louis County Department of Human Services’ Workforce Development division; and Doris A. Graham, Ph.D., retired assistant principal at Ames Visual and Performing Arts Public School in St. Louis; and Philip E. Smith, a retired professor and department chair of foreign languages at St. Louis Community College’s Forest Park and Meramec campuses. The winner will serve a six-year term.

Incumbent Margo McNeil chose not to seek re-election. Subdistrict 1 includes the Hazelwood, Ferguson/Florissant, Riverview Gardens, Jennings, Pattonville, Ritenour, University City, Normandy, Clayton and Ladue school districts.

Candidates for the Subdistrict 3 seat include Bob Burns, who was appointed by the board to fill the seat vacated by the resignation of JoAnn Ordinachev in December 2011; and Joan H. McGivney, former Southwestern Bell Corp. employee who owns a company that manufactures and distributes a children’s geography game. The winner will serve for the one-year balance of Ordinachev’s term, which expires in 2013. An election to fill the seat for a full six-year term will take place in April 2013.

Subdistrict 3 includes southern and southwest portions of St. Louis City and the Maplewood-Richmond Heights, Affton, Bayless, Brentwood, Kirkwood and Webster Groves school districts.

The STLCC Board of Trustees is a six-member board that represents the four subdistricts of the college service area. Subdistricts 1 and 4 are the two large subdistricts, each represented by two trustees.  Subdistricts 2 and 3 are smaller, each represented by one trustee. District voters elect board members periodically for six-year terms. The board is responsible for determining the policies of the college within the legal framework established by statutes of the state of Missouri. The board makes all final decisions concerning employment, termination of services, expenditure of funds, contracts, establishment of new programs, student fees, tax levies and construction of facilities. Regular board meetings are scheduled each month and are open to the public.