Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2011 » December » STLCC Redistricting Plan Approved by CBHE

STLCC Redistricting Plan Approved by CBHE

December 06, 2011

The redistricting plan submitted by St. Louis Community College has been approved by the Missouri Coordinating Board for Higher Education.

After each federal census, the college district is required by law to establish subdistricts in which the population is apportioned into substantially equal numbers for the election of trustees. The college appoints a Redistricting Committee, which is charged with submitting a plan to CBHE that divides the district into no more than six subdistricts and no fewer than two subdistricts. A subsection of the Missouri state statutes specifies that if the district has four subdistricts, then one must be contained within St. Louis City.

The plan approved by CBHE divides the STLCC service area into four subdistricts represented by six trustees, as it currently is configured. However, due to population losses in St. Louis City, there are slight modifications to the boundaries of the southern and northern edges of the Subdistricts 2 and 3, which represent the city. School districts also have been reassigned in Subdistrict 3 and 4.

Located wholly in St. Louis City, Subdistrict 2’s approximate southern boundary now includes city census tracts 1042, 1045, 1135, 1272, 1152 and 1153, which zigzag through neighborhoods near the Hill, Tower Grove Park, Bevo Mill and Benton Park, then extends east to the Mississippi River.

The Kirkwood School District has been reassigned to Subdistrict 3, which essentially includes the southern and southwest portions of St. Louis City and the Affton, Maplewood-Richmond Heights, Bayless, Brentwood and Webster Groves districts. One trustee represents Subdistrict 3.

The two large subdistricts, 1 and 4, essentially encompass south, west and north St. Louis County. Each is represented by two trustees. Subdistrict 4 now includes the Hancock School District, along with the Lindbergh, Mehlville, Meramec Valley R-III, Parkway, Rockwood and Valley Park districts, and small portions of Franklin and Jefferson counties. Subdistrict 1 remains unchanged. It includes the Clayton, Ferguson-Florissant, Hazelwood, Jennings, Ladue, Normandy, Pattonville, Ritenour, Riverview Gardens, University City and Wellston school districts.

Filing for the Subdistrict 1 and 3 seats on the STLCC Board of Trustees opens 8 a.m. Tuesday, Dec. 13. The Subdistrict 1 seat currently is held by Margo G. McNeil; the Subdistrict 3 seat currently is vacant following the resignation of Joann Ordinachev in October. Trustees are scheduled to appoint an individual to temporarily fill the seat at their Dec. 15 meeting.

Filing for the two seats closes at 5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 17. An election will take place April 3 to fill the seats. The winner of the Subdistrict 1 seat will serve a six-year term. The winner of the Subdistrict 3 seat will serve for the one-year balance of the term, which expires in 2013.

Individuals seeking the trustee seats must be at least 21 years of age and must be a resident voter of Subdistrict 1 or 3 for at least one year before the April 3 election. Each declaration of candidacy must be notarized before it is returned to the office of the associate for board relations at the Joseph P. Cosand Community College Center, 300 S. Broadway. Declarations of candidacy and a description of the subdistricts are available in the office of the associate for board relations at the Cosand Center. The office is open 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday-Friday; however, it will be closed Dec. 23-Jan. 3 and Jan. 16.

The placement of candidate’s names on the ballot shall be determined according to the order of filing by candidates, except that a lottery system will be used to place candidates' names on the ballot for those candidates who file prior to 5 p.m. Dec. 13. All candidates will be notified about the lottery and all other requirements for filing for office at the time they receive filing forms.

For more information about filing for these seats, contact Rebecca Garrison, associate for board relations, at 314-539-5154.