Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2011 » November » Wildwood's Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Inducts New Members

Wildwood's Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Inducts New Members

November 08, 2011

President McIntyre congratulates one of the students at the induction.  
President Pam McIntyre congratulates Kaitland
Paluzzi, one of the students recently inducted
into the Beta Rho Epsilon Chapter of Phi
Theta Kappa.

Thirty-one students from St. Louis Community College-Wildwood recently were inducted into the Beta Rho Epsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges.

Wildwood's chapter now has 161 members since it was established in March 2009.

Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students. Phi Theta Kappa provides members with opportunities for the development of leadership and service, an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, lively fellowship and stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

To be eligible for membership, a student must be enrolled in an accredited institution offering an associate degree program, must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework that may be applied to an associate degree, and have a minimum grade point average of 3.5. The honor society has more than 2 million members and 1,200 chapters worldwide.

Beta Rho Epsilon is an active and vibrant chapter. Members fulfilled requirements to become a 5-Star chapter last spring, the highest rating a chapter can achieve. Last year the chapter participated in leadership training at the Regional Honors Conference in Potosi, and two members were honored at the national conference in Seattle, Wash.: Debbie Zamora was elected president of the Missouri chapter, which covers the entire state of Missouri and includes 26 chapters; Carleen Murray received the Distinguished Member Award.

Members organized a cell phone collection drive to benefit American soldiers serving abroad, and are currently accepting donations of books to benefit The Haven of Grace, a home and support system for young, pregnant women. They regularly participate in other community service projects at the college.

During the ceremony, members also took the opportunity to honor Donna Babbitt, chair of Business Administration and Social Sciences, and Teri Graville, assistant professor of mathematics, who served as past advisers, and to recognize Trish Aumann, coordinator of Campus Life and College Transition, who currently serves as the adviser. A number of other faculty and staff were also recognized for their contributions to the chapter: Melissa Joy Benton-Hopper, Amy Buatois, David Cormier, Al Fillenwarth, Helen Nauman, Jeff Smith, Mark Weber, Dorothy Welty and Allyson Wright.