Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2011 » May » Jackson Sworn In As STLCC Trustee

Jackson Sworn In As STLCC Trustee

May 02, 2011

Hattie Jackson takes the oath of office.  
Melissa Hattman, right, administers the oath of office to Hattie Jackson, the newest member of the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees.
















Hattie R. Jackson, who retired as dean of academic support services and continuing education at Forest Park last year, was sworn in as the representative of Subdistrict 2 on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees at the April 28 meeting at the Florissant Valley campus.

Jackson defeated incumbent Denise R. Chachere, Patrick J. Burke and Wendy R. Watson-Robinson in the race. The certified vote was 9,915 for Jackson; 2,115 for Chachere, human resources/organizational development director at Jost Chemical Co.; 2,033 for Burke, a building inspector for the City of Creve Coeur; and 973 for Watson-Robinson, an accounting and control specialist for the U.S. Postal Service.

Subdistrict 2’s approximate boundaries extend from the northern limits of St. Louis City south along the city limit to Oakland Avenue; southeast from Kingshighway along Park, 39th, Jefferson and Osage to Interstate 55 and Gasconade; east on Gasconade to the Mississippi River; and north along the river back to its starting point.

The STLCC Board of Trustees is a six-member board that represents the four subdistricts of the college service area. Subdistricts 1 and 4 are the two large subdistricts, each represented by two trustees. Subdistricts 2 and 3 are smaller, each represented by one trustee. The board makes all final decisions concerning employment, termination of services, expenditure of funds, contracts, establishment of new programs, student fees, tax levies and construction of facilities. Regular board meetings are scheduled each month and are open to the public.