Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2011 » April » Jackson Elected to STLCC Board of Trustees

Jackson Elected to STLCC Board of Trustees

April 06, 2011

Hattie R. Jackson  
Hattie R. Jackson

A retired dean from St. Louis Community College’s Forest Park campus was elected to serve a six-year term on the college’s Board of Trustees on April 5.

Hattie R. Jackson, who retired as dean of academic support services and continuing education at Forest Park last year, will represent Subdistrict 2. She will take the oath of office at the April 28 Board of Trustees meeting at the college’s Florissant Valley campus.

Jackson defeated incumbent Denise R. Chachere, Patrick J. Burke and Wendy R. Watson-Robinson in the race. The uncertified vote was 9,865 for Jackson; 2,087 for Chachere, human resources/organizational development director at Jost Chemical Co.; 2,029 for Burke, a building inspector for the City of Creve Coeur; and 970 for Watson-Robinson, an accounting and control specialist for the U.S. Postal Service.

Subdistrict 2’s approximate boundaries extend from the northern limits of St. Louis City south along the city limit to Oakland Avenue; southeast from Kingshighway along Park, 39th, Jefferson and Osage to Interstate 55 and Gasconade; east on Gasconade to the Mississippi River; and north along the river back to its starting point.


The STLCC Board of Trustees is a six-member board that represents the four subdistricts of the college service area. Subdistricts 1 and 4 are the two large subdistricts, each represented by two trustees. Subdistricts 2 and 3 are smaller, each represented by one trustee. The board makes all final decisions concerning employment, termination of services, expenditure of funds, contracts, establishment of new programs, student fees, tax levies and construction of facilities. Regular board meetings are scheduled each month and are open to the public.