Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2010 » June » STLCC Board of Trustees Elects New Officers

STLCC Board of Trustees Elects New Officers

June 25, 2010

Denise Chachere congratulates Joann Ordinachev for service as chair of the college's board of trustees.  
Denise Chachere, left, newly elected chair of the STLCC
Board of Trustees, presents Joann Ordinachev with a plaque
in recognition of her service as board chair for 2009-2010.

The six members of the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees selected Denise R. Chachere of St. Louis as board chair and Melissa Hattman of University City as board vice chair at the June 24 regular meeting.

Each will serve a one-year term in the new position.

Hattman also was elected to serve as the trustees' representative on the STLCC Foundation Board of Directors. As board chair, Chachere automatically becomes a member of this board as well.

Chachere was elected to the board in 2005 to represent Subdistrict 2. This subdistrict’s approximate boundaries extend from the northern limits of St. Louis City south along the city limit to Oakland Avenue; southeast from Kingshighway along Park, 39th, Jefferson and Osage to Interstate 55 and Gasconade; east on Gasconade to the Mississippi River; and north along the river back to its starting point.

Hattman was elected to the board in 2008 to represent Subdistrict 1. This subdistrict 1 includes the Hazelwood, Ferguson-Florissant, Riverview Gardens, Jennings, Pattonville, Ritenour, Normandy, Wellston, University City, Clayton and Ladue school districts.

Outgoing board president Joann L. Ordinachev, Ph.D., was presented with a plaque to commemorate her term as board chair. Ordinachev, who served three non-consecutive terms as board chair, remains on the board as a representative from Subdistrict 3.

Other trustees are Eleftheria “Libby” Fitzgerald, Margo G. McNeil and Craig H. Larson, Ed.D. Each trustee represents a subdistrict of the college service area and is elected periodically by district voters for staggered six-year terms. Trustees are responsible for determining college policy within the legal framework established by the statutes of the state of Missouri. They make all final decisions concerning employment, termination of services, expenditures of funds, contracts, establishment of new programs, student fees, tax levies and facilities construction. Monthly meetings are open to the public.