Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2010 » April » Larson Elected to STLCC Board of Trustees

Larson Elected to STLCC Board of Trustees

April 07, 2010

Craig H. Larson, Ed.D.  
Craig H. Larson, Ed.D.

The retiring superintendent of one of
St. Louis County's largest school districts was elected to serve a six-year term on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees on April 6.

Craig H. Larson, Ed.D., who is retiring from his post with the Rockwood School District, will represent Subdistrict 4. He will take the oath of office at the April 29 Board of Trustees meeting at the college’s Forest Park campus.

Larson defeated Tina A. Odo, J.D., incumbent Robert C. Nelson and Robert M. Johns in the Subdistrict 4 race. The uncertified vote was 20,823 for Larson; 16,250 for Odo, former general counsel for St. Louis Community College; 10,946 for Nelson, a retired associate professor in physical education and former basketball coach at STLCC-Forest Park; and 5,076 for Johns, a former employee at the college’s Meramec campus.

Subdistrict 4 includes the Parkway, Kirkwood, Lindbergh, Mehlville, Rockwood, Valley Park and Meramec Valley school districts and portions of Franklin and Jefferson counties.

The STLCC Board of Trustees is a six-member board that represents the four subdistricts of the college service area. Subdistricts 1 and 4 are the two large subdistricts, each represented by two trustees. Subdistricts 2 and 3 are smaller, each represented by one trustee. The board makes all final decisions concerning employment, termination of services, expenditure of funds, contracts, establishment of new programs, student fees, tax levies and construction of facilities. Regular board meetings are scheduled each month and are open to the public.