Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2010 » April » The Montage Honored at Missouri College Media Association Annual Convention

The Montage Honored at Missouri College Media Association Annual Convention

April 15, 2010

Carlos Restrepo
Carlos Restrepo,
Missouri Student
Journalist of the Year,

The Montage, St. Louis Community College - Meramec's student newspaper, was honored at the Missouri College Media Association’s annual convention and awards ceremony, held April 9-10 at the University of Central Missouri’s Summit Center in Lee’s Summit, Mo.

The Montage’s Editor-in-Chief Carlos Restrepo was recognized as Missouri’s Student Journalist of the Year. Restrepo was one of eight candidates competing for the title and the only representative from a community college.

The Montage also won the Sweepstakes award, a first-place award for Web Page, a third-place win for best overall newspaper in the two-year school division, and 27 additional staff and individual awards.

The Montage staff competed against several other two-year school newspapers from across the state, including newspapers from the STLCC-Forest Park and the STLCC-Florissant Valley campuses. Entries in the competition were judged for general excellence by members of the Missouri Press Association.

Individual and staff awards received by The Montage staff included first, second and third-place wins for news writing, editorial writing, feature writing, sports writing, in-depth and investigative reporting, news and sports photography, information graphics, story illustrations, editorial cartoons, page design and multimedia content. Several honorable mentions were also awarded to staff members.

Individual Awards:
The 2010 Missouri College Media Association awards won by The Montage staff in the two-year school division:

  • Sweepstakes Award – First Place
  • Best Overall Newspaper – Third Place
  • Web Page – First Place
  • News Writing – Second Place, Jacob Hight
  • Editorial Writing  – Second Place, Julie Wells
  • Feature Writing – Third Place, Anna Nowotny and Honorable Mention, Stephanie Stough
  • Sports Writing – First Place, Collin Reischman
  • In-Depth Reporting – First Place, Joe Douglas and Collin Reischman
  • Investigative Reporting – First Place, Carlos Restrepo and Amy Winstead; Second Place, Carlos Restrepo, Collin Reischman, Spencer Gleason and Eric Aikin
  • Regular Column – Second Place, Carlos Restrepo; Honorable Mention, Collin Reischman
  • News Photography – Third Place, Anna Nowotny
  • Sports Photography – First Place, Jeanetta Roberts; Third Place, Melanie Tilton
  • Editorial Cartoon – Second Place, Jacob Hight
  • Information Graphic – First Place, Carlos Restrepo
  • Story Illustration – First Place, Jacob Hight
  • Page One Design – Honorable Mention, Carlos Restrepo, Collin Reischman
  • Editorial Section – Second Place, The Montage Staff
  • Sports Page – First Place, Collin Reischman, Jeanetta Roberts, Anna Nowotny Second Place, Carlos Restrepo, Anna Nowotny
  • Photo Page –  Honorable Mention, Aram Karapetyan, Will Hart, Nashara Robinson, Carlos Restrepo
  • Feature Page – First Place, Anna Nowotny, Andrea Royals, Jennifer Roberts, Collin Reischman; Second Place, Anna Nowotny, Carlos Restrepo, Janelle Turner, Emily White
  • Special Section – Second Place, Collin Reischman, Amanda Keefe, Anna Nowotny
  • Multimedia – Second Place, Carlos Restrepo; Honorable Mention Jeanetta Roberts, Courtney Stark, Carlos Restrepo