Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2010 » February » Four Candidates Vie for STLCC Board of Trustees Seat

Four Candidates Vie for STLCC Board of Trustees Seat

April 05, 2010

Four candidates, including the incumbent, will vie for a Subdistrict 4 seat on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees in the April 6 election. The winner will serve a six-year term.

Incumbent Robert C. Nelson, a retired associate professor of physical education and basketball coach at STLCC-Forest Park, will be opposed by Tina A. Odo, J.D., former general counsel for STLCC; Robert M. Johns, a former employee at the college’s Meramec campus; and Craig H. Larson, Ed.D., retiring superintendent of the Rockwood School District.

Subdistrict 4 includes the Parkway, Kirkwood, Lindbergh, Mehlville, Rockwood, Valley Park and Meramec Valley school districts and portions of Franklin and Jefferson counties.

The STLCC Board of Trustees is a six-member board that represents the four subdistricts of the college service area. Subdistricts 1 and 4 are the two large subdistricts, each represented by two trustees. Subdistricts 2 and 3 are smaller, each represented by one trustee. District voters elect board members periodically for six-year terms.

The board is responsible for determining the policies of the college within the legal framework established by statutes of the state of Missouri. The board makes all final decisions concerning employment, termination of services, expenditure of funds, contracts, establishment of new programs, student fees, tax levies and construction of facilities. Regular board meetings are scheduled each month and are open to the public.