Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2009 » April » STLCC-Florissant Valley NSBE Chapter Wins at National Convention

STLCC-Florissant Valley NSBE Chapter Wins at National Convention

April 21, 2009

From 1 to r: Adonis Williams, Dorothy McGuffin,
Shawn Cross, Ryan Wheeler, Precious Forrest, Eric Barsh,
Turquiose Hamilton, Michael Owens, Andrew Peters, Jr.,
Dr. Terrence Freeman.

The National Society of Engineers (NSBE) recently held its 35th annual national convention in Las Vegas. The STLCC-Florissant Valley chapter received the Outstanding Small Chapter of the year award. Adonis Williams, also a member of Phi Theta Kappa, received a $500.00 Vanguard Award scholarship.

"I am so pleased to see our community college chapter receive recognition from the National NSBE," said Dorothy McGuffin, Florissant Valley NSBE advisor.

Current Missouri University of Science and Technology students and Florissant Valley alumni Eric Barsh and Michael Owens were both elected to NSBE posts at the convention. Eric Barsh was elected Region 5 Program Chair and Michael Owens was elected National Finance Chair.

The Florissant Valley chapter is the first and only community college member of NSBE in Region 5. NSBE has more than 31,000 members nation-wide and it is one of the largest student-governed organizations in the country. NSBE is comprised of more than 300 chapters on college and university campuses and more than 80 Alumni Extension chapters and numerous NSBE Jr. chapters. The St. Louis Gateway NSBE Alumni Extension chapter meets at the Florissant Valley campus monthly.