Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2009 » April » STLCC-Meramec’s The Montage honored at the Missouri College Media Association’s Annual Convention

STLCC-Meramec’s The Montage honored at the Missouri College Media Association’s Annual Convention

April 23, 2009

The Montage staff with their advisor Shannon Philpot

The Montage, St. Louis Community College-Meramec's student newspaper, recently added many more awards to its long list of accomplishments at the Missouri College Media Association’s annual convention and awards ceremony, held April 17-18 at St. Louis University in St. Louis, Mo.

The Montage won the Sweepstakes award, a 2nd place win for best overall newspaper in the two-year school division, and 26 staff and individual awards. Editor-in-Chief Carlos Restrepo accepted the awards on behalf of the entire staff.

The Montage competed against several other two-year school newspapers from across the state including newspapers from the STLCC-Forest Park and the STLCC-Florissant Valley campuses. Entries in the competition were judged for general excellence by members of the Missouri Press Association.

Individual and staff awards received by The Montage staff included 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place wins for news writing, editorial writing, feature writing, sports writing, investigative reporting, feature and sports photography, information graphics, editorial cartoons, advertising, and page design. Several honorable mentions were awarded to staff members for photography, editorial cartoons, and page design.

The Montage has consistently won awards for excellence in student journalism at the state and national levels for many years. Recent awards include recognition from the Society of Professional Journalists with a Mark of Excellence Award and a Best of Show win from the Associated Collegiate Press.

In addition to this year’s recognition from the Missouri Press Association, The Montage was named the MCMA Best Overall Newspaper in the two-year school division for 2006 – 2007, 2005 – 2006, 2004 – 2005, 2003-2004, 2001-2002, 2000-2001 and 1999-2000; MCMA’s annual convention Sweepstakes Award in 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004 and 2002 for most awards won by a single school in one year; and an Associated Collegiate Press National Pacemaker Award, the highest honor in collegiate journalism, in 1996. The Montage was also a national finalist for the Pacemaker in November 2003 and November 2007 as well.

Individual Awards:
The 2009 Missouri College Media Association awards won by The Montage staff in the two-year school division:
Sweepstakes Award – First Place
Best Overall Newspaper – Second Place
Web Page – Second Place
News Writing: First Place, Collin Reischman
Editorial Writing: Third Place, Carlos Restrepo
Feature Writing: Second Place, Collin Reischman and Third Place, Amanda Keefe
Sports Writing: First Place, Eugene Clark
Investigative Reporting: First Place, Tyler Jordan and Carlos Restrepo
Regular Column: First Place, Collin Reischman
Feature Photography: Honorable Mention, Nick Schnelle
Sports Photography: Second Place, J.P. O’Malley and Third Place, Melanie Tilton
Editorial Cartoon: Third Place and Honorable Mention, Anna Nowotny
Information Graphic: First Place, Brett Lohmeyer and Second Place, Carlos Restrepo and Nick Schnelle
Story Illustration: Third Place, Nick Schnelle
Advertising: First Place, Anna Nowotny
Page One Design: Second Place, Nick Schnelle, Amanda Keefe, Brett Lohmeyer, and Eric Aikin; and Honorable Mention, Nick Schnelle
Editorial Page: First Place, Natasha Barclay, Carlos Restrepo, Collin Reischman, Christine Gorla, Philip Blanks, Nicole Hunt, Nick Schnelle, Kyle Aubuchon
Sports Page: Second Place, Nick Schnelle, Tyler Jordan, Brett Lohmeyer, Nathan Drake; and Third Place, Nick Schnelle, Shane Luttrell, Tyler Jordan
Feature Page: First Place, Nick Schnelle and Carlos Restrepo; and Second Place, Amanda Keefe, Nick Schnelle, Katie Douglas, Julie Wells, Megan Ammari; and Third Place, Nick Schnelle, Tyler Jordan
Multimedia: First Place, Tyler Jordan, Nick Schnelle, Curtis Daniels, Brett Lohmeyer