Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2008 » April » STLCC-Meramec's The Montage honored at the Missouri College Media Association's Annual Convention

STLCC-Meramec's The Montage honored at the Missouri College Media Association's Annual Convention

April 29, 2008

The Montage, St. Louis Community College - Meramec's student newspaper, recently added more awards to its long list of accomplishments. At the Missouri College Media Association’s annual convention and awards, held April 11-12 in Joplin, Mo., The Montage won the Sweepstakes award, a 2nd place win for best overall newspaper in the two-year school division, and 22 staff and individual awards. Editor-in-Chief Tyler Jordan accepted the awards on behalf of the entire staff.

The Montage competed against several other two-year school newspapers from across the state, including newspapers from the STLCC-Forest Park and the STLCC-Florissant Valley campuses. Entries in the competition were judged for general excellence by members of the Missouri Press Association.

Individual and staff awards received by The Montage staff included 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place wins for news writing, editorial writing, feature writing, sports writing, investigative reporting, news, feature and sports photography, information graphics, and page design. Several honorable mentions were awarded to staff members for story illustrations, investigative reporting and feature page design.

The 2008 Missouri College Media Association awards won by The Montage staff in the two-year school division:

Sweepstakes Award - First Place
Best Overall Newspaper - Second Place
Feature Writing - First Place, Collin Reischman and Second Place, Tyler Jordan;
News Writing - Third Place, Elizabeth Wilson
Editorial Writing - Third Place, Elizabeth Wilson
Sports Writing - Second Place, Brett Lohmeyer
Investigative Reporting - Second Place, Tyler Jordan and Honorable Mention, Camilo Rodriguez and Steve Felgenhauer
News Photography - Second Place, Nick Schnelle
Feature Photography - First Place, Tyler Jordan
Sports Photography - Second Place, Nathan Drake and Third Place, Fatemeh Ataei
Information Graphic - First Place, Nathan Drake and Second Place, Nick Schnelle
Story Illustration - Honorable Mention, Natasha Barclay
Page One Design - First Place, Tyler Jordan and Nathan Drake
Sports Page - Third Place, Brett Lohmeyer
Photo Page - Second Place, Nathan Drake
Feature Page - First Place, Brett Lohmeyer, Nathan Drake, Nick Schnelle, and Amanda Keefe; Second Place - Amanda Keefe; and Honorable Mention, Abigail O’Flynne, Nick Schnelle, Nathan Drake, and Amanda Keefe

The Montage has consistently won awards for excellence in student journalism at the state and national levels for many years. Recent awards include recognition as a 2007 Newspaper Pacemaker finalist with four marks of distinction by the Associated Collegiate Press, the highest honor available to ACP members. In October 2007, The Montage received third place of all two-year schools entered in the Best of Show competition at the Associated Collegiate Press Annual National College Newspaper and Yearbook Workshop in Washington, D.C.

In addition to this year’s recognition from the Missouri Press Association, The Montage was named the MCMA Best Overall Newspaper in the two-year school division for 2006-2007, 2005-2006, 2004-2005, 2003-2004, 2001-2002, 2000-2001 and 1999-2000; MCMA’s annual convention Sweepstakes Award in 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004 and 2002 for most awards won by a single school in one year; and an Associated Collegiate Press National Pacemaker Award, the highest honor in collegiate journalism, in 1996. The Montage was also a national finalist for the Pacemaker in November 2003 as well.