Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2008 » April » STLCC-Forest Park Student Named to USA Today Academic Second Team

STLCC-Forest Park Student Named to USA Today Academic Second Team

April 18, 2008

Courtney Boddie  
Courtney Boddie

Courtney Boddie, an international business student at St. Louis Community College-Forest Park, has been named to the 2008 USA Today All-USA Community College Academic Second Team.

First, second and third teams of 20 students each were announced earlier this month in USA Today. The teams recognize students who excel academically; demonstrate intellectual rigor in their course of study; demonstrate academic/leadership/civic growth; and extend their community college education to better themselves, their schools and their communities.

Boddie, who resides near Collinsville, Ill., is president of the Forest Park Xi Epsilon chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, and is the Missouri regional vice president of the Phi Theta Kappa. He also is a member of the Pre-Law Club and the Forest Park Institutional Affairs Council, and serves on the campus Teacher of the Year and Global Education committees.

Boddie was named to the annual Missouri Community College Association/Phi Theta Kappa 2008 All-Missouri Academic First Team. He also was named the state of Missouri’s New Century Scholar for achieving the highest USA Today All-USA Community College Academic Team application score in Missouri. As a New Century Scholar, Boddie receives a $2,000 scholarship through the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation.

Boddie has posted a grade-point average of 3.88, and has received the President’s International Study Abroad Award, the STLCC Board of Trustees Scholarship and is a past recipient of the Emerson Minority Engineering Scholarship. 

Boddie is the seventh STLCC student named to the USA Today All-Academic teams. Previous honorees were Alice Miller, Forest Park, 1991 second team; Tim Young, Forest Park, 1992 first team; Lisa Simpson, Florissant Valley, 1995 second team; Linda Clark, Meramec, 1996 first team; and Donna Munro, Florissant Valley, 1996 first team; and Robert Jones, Forest Park, 2007 first team.