Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2008 » February » Seven Candidates Seek Two Seats on STLCC Board of Trustees

Seven Candidates Seek Two Seats on STLCC Board of Trustees

February 07, 2008

Seven candidates will vie for two seats on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees in the April 8 election. Winners will serve six-year terms. 


Four candidates have filed for the Subdistrict 1 seat currently held by Trustee Dolores Gunn, M.D., who has chosen not to seek reelection.  The candidates are Theodis Brown Sr., Castlepoint fire chief; Arnie C. Dienoff of Bellefontaine Neighbors; King L. Taylor Jr., a teacher in the Normandy School District; and Melissa Hattman, director of transfer and articulation at the University of Missouri-St. Louis.


A fifth candidate, Charles E. Hamilton, has withdrawn because of business obligations.


Subdistrict 1includes the Hazelwood, Ferguson-Florissant, Riverview Gardens, Jennings, Pattonville, Ritenour, Normandy, Wellston, University City, Clayton and Ladue school districts. 


Three candidates have filed for the Subdistrict 4 seat currently held by Trustee Michael Rohrbacker, who also has chosen not to seek reelection.  The candidates are Eleftheria "Libby" Fitzgerald, retired associate professor in counseling at St. Louis Community College-Forest Park; Philip D. Carlock, retired dean of learning resources at Southwestern Illinois College; and Loni Ross Kleinschmidt, an agent with the Missouri Department of Transportation.


Subdistrict 4 includes the Parkway, Kirkwood, Lindbergh, Mehlville, Rockwood, Valley Park and Meramec Valley school districts and portions of Franklin and Jefferson counties.


The STLCC Board of Trustees is a six-member board that represents the four subdistricts of the college service area. Subdistricts 1 and 4 are the two large subdistricts, each represented by two trustees. Subdistricts 2 and 3 are smaller, each represented by one trustee. District voters elect board members periodically for six-year terms. The board is responsible for determining the policies of the college within the legal framework established by statutes of the state of Missouri. The board makes all final decisions concerning employment, termination of services, expenditure of funds, contracts, establishment of new programs, student fees, tax levies and construction of facilities. Regular board meetings are scheduled each month and are open to the public.