Text Only Skip to content
Skip header navigation.
Skip sub-section linksSTLCC Home » College News » 2008 » January » Filing Closes January 22 for STLCC Board of Trustees Seats

Filing Closes January 22 for STLCC Board of Trustees Seats

January 01, 2008

Filing for the Subdistrict 1 and 4 seats on the St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees closes at 5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 22.  The seats currently are held by Dolores Gunn, M.D., and Michael Rohrbacker.  Gunn has served as Subdistrict 1 representative on the college’s board since 2002; Rohrbacker has served as the Subdistrict 4 representative since 1996. 

An election will take place April 8 to fill the vacancies.  The winners will serve six-year terms. 

A six-member board representing the four subdistricts of the college service area governs St. Louis Community College.  Subdistrict 1 includes the Hazelwood, Ferguson-Florissant, Riverview Gardens, Jennings, Pattonville, Ritenour, Normandy, Wellston, University City, Clayton and Ladue school districts. Subdistrict 4 includes the Parkway, Kirkwood, Lindbergh, Mehlville, Rockwood, Valley Park and Meramec Valley school districts and portions of Franklin and Jefferson counties.

Individuals seeking a trustee seat must be at least 21 years of age and must be a resident voter of Subdistrict 1 or 4 for at least one year before the April 8 election.  Each declaration of candidacy must be notarized before it is returned to the office of the administrative associate to the board of trustees at the Joseph P. Cosand Community College Center, 300 S. Broadway.  Declarations of candidacy and a description of the subdistricts are available in the trustees’ administrative associate’s office at the Cosand Center.  The office is open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday; however, it will be closed Jan. 21. 

The placement of candidates’ names on the ballot shall be determined according to the order of filing by candidates, except that a lottery system was used to place candidates' names on the ballot for those candidates who filed prior to 5 p.m. Dec. 18.  All candidates will be notified about requirements for filing for office at the time they receive filing forms. 

For more information, contact Rebecca Garrison, administrative associate to the board, at 314-539-5154.